Random Thoughts Volume 6

The_Thinker

  1. Posted on Facebook by me:

ME: I am happy and proud to report that I am now the SECOND worst bowler in my league with a 151 average. I have my sights set on Marta White, who is only 3 points ahead of me at 154. It’s on !

Bob, my son: Marta’s 80. But we bowl her this week. Kick her ass!!

  1. Mike Tirico, ESPN announcer, during the Eagles game this past Monday night when Philly was up 38 – 7: ” This isn’t even competitive.”
  2. Jon Gruden, the other ESPN announcer, moments later: “This is awful.”
  3. Conner Baldwin had 3 or 4 sacks for the Eagles. If you had asked me, before the Eagles game, “Who is Conner Baldwin?” I would probably have said “Wasn’t he that guy who played “The Rifleman” on the TV show in the 60s?”

5.  What a gorgeous Veteran’s Day it was here in Delaware. Mostly overcast, but 69

  1. Posted on Facebook by me:

ME: I am happy and proud to report that I am now the SECOND worst bowler in my league with a 151 average. I have my sights set on Marta White, who is only 3 points ahead of me at 154. It’s on !

Bob, my son: Marta’s 80. But we bowl her this week. Kick her ass!!

  1. Mike Tirico, ESPN anouncer, during the Eagles game this past Monday night when Philly was up 38 – 7: ” This isn’t even competitive.”
  2. Jon Gruden, the other ESPN anouncer, moments later: “This is awful.”
  3. Conner Baldwin had 3 or 4 sacks for the Eagles. If you had asked me, before the Eagles game, “Who is Conner Baldwin?” I would probably have said “Wasn’t he that guy who played “The Rifleman” on the TV show in the 60s?”
  4. What a gorgeous Veteran’s Day it was here in Delaware. Mostly overcast, but 69 degrees and, when the sun came out, it cast brilliant sunshine on the red, gold, and green leaves on the trees. Soon, we will have a 2-day, cold rain with wind and most of the leaves will be gone for the year. 11/11/14 was a great day, though.
  5. I wanted to get a flu shot this year….but I wanted it for free. I kept reading about free flu shots here and there but couldn’t catch one. It turns out that the local hospital, where I volunteer, insists that we all get flu shots….and they are free….so I got one. I love it when a plan works out.
  6. Two years ago, I used to say that the best $1 sandwich in the world was the Junior Bacon Cheeseburger at Wendy’s. It was a small burger ( maybe meat), lettuce, tomato, mayo, and bacon on a roll for $1. It is now $2. Even with my limited math skills, this seems to me like a 100 % price increase in 2 years. Our government says the inflation rate is 2 – 3 % per year. Oh, wait… they don’t count the volatile food and energy categories because, after all, who amongst us uses those ?
  7. I’m sorry if this is a spoiler. The guy who won the World Series of Poker last night won $10,000,000 and a gold bracelet worth $5,000,000. The guy who came in second had a TOTAL CAREER earnings of $35,000. He won $5,000,000. My congratuations and INCREDIBLE admiration goes out to both of them who outlasted a field of, like, 50,000 entrants.
  8. If you eat at fast food restaurants and you have a smart phone, download Burker King’s app. They have some REALLY good deals.

d      and,                   when the sun came out, it cast brilliant sunshine on the red, gold, and green egreesleaves on the trees. Soon, we will have a 2-day, cold rain with wind and most of the leaves will be gone for the year. 11/11/14 was a great day, though.

  1. I wanted to get a flu shot this year….but I wanted it for free. I kept reading about free flu shots here and there but couldn’t catch one. It turns out that the local hospital, where I volunteer, insists that we all get flu shots….and they are free….so I got one. I love it when a plan works out.
  2. Two years ago, I used to say that the best $1 sandwich in the world was the Junior Bacon Cheeseburger at Wendy’s. It was a small burger ( maybe meat), lettuce, tomato, mayo, and bacon on a roll for $1. It is now $2. Even with my limited math skills, this seems to me like a 100 % price increase in 2 years. Our government says the inflation rate is 2 – 3 % per year. Oh, wait… they don’t count the volatile food and energy categories because, after all, who amongst us uses those ?
  3. I’m sorry if this is a spoiler. The guy who won the World Series of Poker last night won $10,000,000 and a gold bracelet worth $5,000,000. The guy who came in second had a TOTAL CAREER earnings of $35,000. He won $5,000,000. My congratulations and INCREDIBLE admiration goes out to both of them who outlasted a field of, like, 50,000 entrants.
  4. If you eat at fast food restaurants and you have a smart phone, download Burger King’s app. They have some REALLY good deals.
Leave a Reply

