Random thoughts……Volume 1

thinker1

Random thoughts. . . . . . Volume 1.

If you are not interested in my random thoughts, just skip this now. Believe me, there is nothing earth shattering or even important in here so I wouldn’t blame you. If you are curious, though, read on but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

#1. I’m almost afraid to say this because I don’t want to jinx it but I think this has been the greatest Summer weather I can remember in many years. It reminds me of the Summers when I was a youngster; daytime highs in the mid 80s and night time lows in the mid to upper 60s. with relatively low humidity. It’s only been the last 10 years, if my memory serves, that it’s been stifling hot with high humidty for days on end. I remember reading something like 8 of the 10 hottest Summers in this area have been in the last 10 years. Granted, I’m not home much but my electric bill can be scary in July – August. This year it was laughably low. I hope it continues.

#2. I don’t mean to insult anyone with this thought. This is not something I read in the paper. It’s a personal observation. I live in Delaware. In my opinion, if you live in New Castle County in upper Delaware, and you are on a 4-lane highway (2 lanes in each direction), and the person in front of you is in the left lane and going slow, there is a 90% chance that the situation files into 1 of 3 categories. The first is that the car has Pennsylvania plates. You may as well just go right around them. Again, no offense intended, but I can’t remember seeing any driver with Pennsylvania plates ever giving up the left lane. The other 60 % will be divided equally between two categories and you’ll have to pass them in the right lane to find out. One category is that they are really old with no hair or gray hair or, if it’s a woman, gray or blue hair. The other 30 % will be any age but they will be holding a cell phone up to their ear. The remaing 10 percent will fall into several categories but we can call them “miscellaneous” for the purposes of our discussion here.

#3. The Newark National Little League team plays on a field located one mile from my house. They made it to the Little League World Series in Williamsport, Pa. last year. This year, they won all the way up to the final game where they got beat 8 – 0 by a Philadelphia team that had a girl pitching. This Philly team has promise and they are now in the Williamsport tournament. The girl – and I don’t know her name – is 12 and can bring it at 70 mph. I certainly couldn’t hit her. She’s not 60 feet, 6 inches away. She’s like 42 feet away. The catcher would be throwing the ball back to the pitcher while I was still swinging. I hope Philly goes all the way. Let’s take a minute, though, to tip our caps to the coaches of the Newark team. They had to lose half their team last year and still made it that far this year. These guys volunteer a lot of their time and energy to teach these kids; not only baseball skills, but also teamwork and respect for the game and for others. They must be doing something right.

#4. I was playing golf with my son, Bob, a couple of weeks ago. Sometime during the round , we started talking aout TV and he was telling me that I should be watching “Game of Thrones” and a couple of other series. I told him, “Oh, man, I don’t have time to watch that stuff.” Since I’m retired, he chuckled and said “You know how ridiculous that sounds, right?” I laughed and said “Yeah, I know.” However, it’s true. Time goes by so fast. If you’ve ever read the novel “Catch 22”, there was a character in the book that believed that time not only SEEMED to go slower if you were bored, but he claimed it actually WAS slower so he cutivated boredom in order to lengthen his life. I haven’t been bored since I was 30. I wish time would slow down. It seems like my birthday was only 2 months ago and here it comes again in only two more months. Someone please hit the “pause” button.

OK, that’s it for now. Thanks for your attention. You are now free to resume your normally scheduled lives.

Thanks,

Bob

Leave a comment