Kerfuffle

Argue

KERFUFFLE . . . . a very short story by me.

So I’m reading the newspaper while watching the Phillies, you know, multi-tasking as usual. The story I’m reading begins the next chapter by saying “The kerfuffle began when blah, blah, blah blah.” I’m about two sentences beyond the last blah when the computer program that runs inside my brain throws out an interrupt. “Wait a minute,” says Brain. “What the hell was that word you just ran by me?” My brain talks a lot like I do. I suppose that’s normal. Anyway, my eyes go back and yep, it says “kerfuffle.” Now, I was able to figure out what I thought it meant by the gist and content of the rest of the paragraph but I wrote it down to be added to my list. . . . .”Look up the meaning of kerfuffle.” I have done that now and I am going to share it with you , you lucky devil.

kerfuffle….. A disorderly outburst, disturbance, commotion or tumult. Synonyms are brouhaha, fracas, hubbub, and racket.

I know that I read, years ago, that you should try to learn something new every day so now I have completed my daily task. For those of you that already new what a kerfuffle was, you still have your work cut out for you. For those of you that didn’t know, you have learned your new thing for today so your day is complete and you can leave work and go home. Tell your boss that I said that it’s ok.

You’re welcome.

This has been a public service announcement by Bob.

 

 

Leave a Reply

